





October 27,2019

As if anyone needed a reminder, our **Fleet 5 Awards Party** will be on **Saturday, November 16**, again to be hosted by **Peter and Wendy Frisch** at **20 Mostyn Street in Swampscott**, near Preston Beach. Be sure not to be **'that guy'** who is named as an award winner, but is not there to pick it up! The full list follows:

Twilight Series Awards: First thruThird for each series, and for Twilight season overall)

Charlie Barr Trophy (Twilight overall)

Named in memory of long-time Rhodes racer Charlie Barr

Fleet #5 Marblehead Race Week: (Second and Third place recognition)

Marblehead Fleet #5 Race Week Trophy (AKA "the Spittoon")

Awarded each year to the skipper of the Fleet #5 boat with the best finish in Race Week.

Rookie of The Year

Awarded to that first-year skipper with the most impressive showing, typically based on overall scores.

Most Improved Award

Awarded each year to the skipper who demonstrates the most improvement from the previous season. Selection is based primarily on a comparison of the overall score for all local events.

Richie Santos Trophy (Crew trophy)

Awarded each season to that individual who most distinguishes him or herself in a crew capacity. Candidates must be nominated by a skipper registered in the fleet. Final selection is at the discretion of the president, and can be judged on the basis of long-term contribution, overall performance during a single season or regatta, or even on a single compelling or outstanding event.

Nick Nichols Trophy (Best Overall. the whole enchilada)

Named in memory of long-time Rhodes skipper Nathan 'Nick' Nichols, this goes to the boat with the lowest overall point total in all Fleet 5 events, including all MRA series, Twilight series, Race Week, and Labor Day.

President's Trophy

Awarded each year to a person or persons who make the most outstanding contribution to the fleet. Final selection is at the sole discretion of the president.

Hacker's Award:

The concept was shamelessly stolen from the Pleon YC, where for decades kids have been gleefully trolling their peers for unusually embarrassing and/or stupid mistakes they may have made during the season. Nominations for candidates deserving of credit (or abuse) for their malfeasance are taken from the floor, (with the Fleet Bar open), and their exploits are to be described in detail by those making nominations. Nominations are scored based on readings taken from our carefully calibrated 'Hack-o-meter', also cribbed from Pleon. (You have to see it in operation to understand it).

One bit of business to conduct on November 16 will to be approve (or not!) the following **slate of officers** for the 2020 season. Your leadership serves at the pleasure of membership, but it does not wish to do so in perpetuity. Everyone should give thought to which roles they might find time to fill in 2021 and beyond.

President: Jim Taylor

V.P: Elise Nash

Secretary: Martha Martini (taking over after years of faithful service by Jeff Shoreman)

Treasurer: David Reynolds **Social:** Larry Ehrhardt **Scorer:** Kim Pandapas

Measurer: Stephan Thibodeaux (taking over for Peter Sorlien)

Webmaster: Nat Taylor